Board of Trustees


William "Bill"  Brinkley, our Board of Trustees Chairmain had this to say in 2011 about the agency:

"Over the past 97 years, we have seen many things change at Southmountain Children's Homes. But what has not changed is a commitment to finding ways to serve the children and families of our communities.

During 2000, we continued that tradition and branched out once again to provide much needed services to families who may not otherwise be able to get the help they need. We also continued our tradition of providing the very best of care to those children who must be placed out of their natural homes.

Staff of Southmountain Children's Homes is, unequivocally, among the best, most highly trained, highly skilled, and dedicated employees in children and family services today. I extend my personal appreciation to each of them and to our faithful donors, without whose support we could not continue to uphold our long tradition of exceptional service." 

2016 – 2017 Executive Committee

Rod Wilcox, Chairman

Gerry Knox, Vice Chairman

Lisa Buff, Treasurer

Joe Delk, Secretary

Mike Tanner, Assistant Secretary

Rep., Josh Dobson

Gerry Knox

Susan McCracken

Board of Directors 

Flake Brantley

Lisa Buff

Ola Mae Caldwell

Joseph Delk

Frank Dean


Rep., Josh Dobson

Michelle Elliott

Hon., Robert Hunter

Jack (Brink) Isaacs, Jr.

Tom Johnson

Gerry Knox

Ron Lackey

Susan McCracken

Rebecca McLeod

Ryan Postlewait


Kathy Rimmer

David Rust

James T. (J.T.) Scruggs

Mike Tanner

Rod Wilcox

Dale Winn

Executive Director

W. Christopher Jernigan